Gluten-free diets are recommended for people with celiac disease, sensitivity to gluten or disordered dermatitis. In addition, a gluten-free diet may also be useful for some people with irritable bowel syndrome, gluten-insa conditioned neurological disorders, type 1 diabetes and HIV-related pathology. So is a gluten-free diet really healthy?
1. What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found mainly in wheat, barley and rye. A gluten-free diet is required for about 2% of the population diagnosed with Celiac disease to avoid serious intra-inflammatory bowel inflammation from occurring. Some people have less inflammation called sensitivity to gluten-free celiac and may feel better in a gluten-free diet.
2. What is a gluten-free diet?
Gluten-free diets or gluten-free diets are those that do not include gluten protein. This diet is necessary to control the signs and symptoms of celiac disease (which is a type of intestinal disease caused by hypersensitivity to gluten composition and makes it difficult to digest and absorb nutrients) and other medical conditions that are associated with gluten.
The benefits of this regime have been demonstrated to improve health, lose weight and increase energy. Most clinical studies related to gluten-free diets have been carried out with people with celiac disease. Therefore, there is little clinical evidence of the health benefits of this diet in the community.
Removing gluten from the diet can change the content of fiber, vitamins, minerals and other nutrients. Therefore, in case of having to adhere to a gluten-free diet, it is important to know that it can affect the whole nutritional needs of the body.
Keeping a strict gluten diet is a lifelong necessity for people with celiac disease. Follow a good diet and avoid cross-contamination that can relieve the symptoms and complications of the disease.
For people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the condition may not last a lifetime. It is possible to diet gluten for a certain period of time for a year or two, then re-check the sensitivity to gluten. However, for some others who are sensitive to gluten-free celiac, diet can be a lifelong treatment.
Some clinical studies have looked at the benefits of community-based diets – people without celiac disease or those who are sensitive to gluten without celiac. There is insufficient clinical evidence to accurately identify the results: weight loss, improved overall health, improved gastrointestinal health, improved achievements in sports practice. In addition, there will be some risks when using a gluten-free diet such as altering the amount of nutrients in the daily diet.
3. The purpose of a gluten-free diet
A gluten-free diet is necessary for the management of the signs and symptoms of some of the following diseases:
- Celiac disease – gluten intolerance disease: Is a gluten condition that activates the functioning of the immune system that nests the lining of the small intestine. Over time, this damaging process will prevent the absorption of nutrients from food. Celiac disease causes auto-immune disorders.
- Sensitivity to gluten not caused by celiac by signs and symptoms associated with celiac disease includes abdominal pain, flatulence, diarrhea,constipation, "foggy brain", rash or headache. No damage was found in the tissues of the small intestine, though. Studies show that the immune system plays a certain role, but is not well understood in this case.
- Glutenatatter , an auto-immune disorder that affects certain nerve tissues and causes problems with muscle control and muscle self-movement.
- Wheat allergies are the same as other food allergies, as a result of which the immune system confuses gluten or some other proteins in wheat as pathogens, such as viruses or bacteria. The immune system produces an antibody to proteins that promote the immune system's response that can lead to blockages, shortness of breath and other symptoms. Gluten-free diets are claimed to have health benefits as motivation to avoid wheat and other cereals with gluten. However, very few clinical studies have done research on the benefits of this diet for people who show no signs of disease with gluten.
4. How to build a gluten-free diet?
A gluten-free diet requires careful attention to both their food composition and their nutritional content.
What fresh food is allowed
There are many natural foods that do not contain gluten that can be part of a healthy diet such as: flowers, fruits, beans, nuts.
Un processed forms of food: eggs, lean meat, unc processed meat, fish and poultry. Most low-fat dairy products.
Cereals, starches or fine flours can be included in gluten-free diets such as: amaranth, dong flour, corn and corn flour, gluten-free flour (rice, soybeans, corn, potatoes, beans), corn porridge, millet, quino, rice, noodles, soybeans, cassava flour.
Nuts are not allowed
Avoid all foods and drinks from wheat, barley, black rice, triticale (hybrid between wheat and rye), oats. Oats are gluten-freenaturally , but they can be contaminated during production along with wheat, barley or rye.
There are many different types of wheat, all of which contain gluten such as hard wheat, Einkorn, Emmer, Kamut. Wheat flour has different names based on how wheat or flour is prepared.
All of the following flours contain gluten: enriched flour adds vitamins and minerals, ground wheat starch is often used in hot cereals, Farina wheat flour – is pure wheat flour, honstard is part of the wheat used in pasta and North African dishes.
Gluten-free food labels
When buying processed foods, it is necessary to read the label to determine if it contains gluten or not. Foods containing wheat, barley, rye or triticale must all be labeled with the name of the grain in the list of contents of the label.
Foods labeled gluten-free are subject to Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations. These foods will have the following labels: Natural gluten-free foods, processed foods without gluten-containing ingredients, foods that are not cross-contaminated with gluten-containing ingredients during production, foods with gluten-containing ingredientsthat are eliminated during processing.
Alcoholic beverages made from gluten-free natural ingredients such as grapes, or juniper berries, can be labeled as gluten-free. Alcoholic beverages made from gluten-containing granules can clearly state that the beverage has been processed, processed or used to remove gluten. However, the label must specify the gluten content.
5. Processed foods that usually contain gluten
Wheat, barley, or rye are standard ingredients in some other products. Gluten of wheat or barley is added as a solid or link, flavoring or coloring agent. It is important to carefully read the labels of food to determine if they contain wheat as well as barley or rye.
Generally, avoid foods when they are labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soybeans or other gluten-free cereals: beer, black beer, bread, baked goods, candy, cereals, biscuits, chips,…
Gluten-free foods often cost more than substituted foods. The cost of following a gluten-free diet can be significant, especially if the diet includes natural gluten-free foods.
Therefore, a gluten-free diet can still be a healthy way of eating but it depends on what type of gluten-free foods, how often they are eaten, and whether other food options to replace are healthy.
For direct advice, please click hotline number or register online HERE. In addition, you can register for remote consultation HERE
Reference source: mayoclinic.org; webmd.com
- Pathogenesity of Celiac disease
- Screening patients at risk for Celiac disease
- What are the medical techniques used to diagnose Celiac disease?